Carbondale Area Hosts Annual Class Night Ceremony for 2024 Graduates
Class President, Kaci Bannon, addresses the Class of 2024 one final time.

Carbondale Area Hosts Annual Class Night Ceremony for 2024 Graduates


On Wednesday, June 5, the Carbondale Area seniors gathered as a class to celebrate achievements, reflect on past memories, and await the future. Megan Cosklo (Valedictorian) and Kylie Kelly (Salutatorian) led the Pledge of Allegiance. Kaci Bannon, Class President, addressed the class with sentimental remarks both before and after the ceremony. Molly Kelly (Class Poet-ranked third) recalled past memories and introduced the events for the evening in a poem format that she wrote.

The ceremony started with presentations of Class Gifts and the reading of the Class Will and Prophecy- these were all based on their personalities and interests, as well as inside jokes that the general public probably did not understand. Juliette Racht and Max Rosler read the Class Will, while Dylan Ofner and Natalie Skeba predicted the future of the Class of 2024 by discussing their Ten-Year Class Reunion at the Cashew Lounge. Jacob Berg, Caden Brennan, Jocelyn Brown, Preston Casey, Rylee Colonna, Janessa Disla, Cloie Greene, and Robert Waters presented the gifts.

Various presenters gave out thousands of dollars in merit-based scholarships to the students. Award recipients are as follows:

Steve Brownell: Preston Casey

Michael Scotch Memorial Athletic: Megan Cosklo

Tom Molinaro Memorial: Cody Ormes

Tim Rossetti Memorial: Megan Cosklo and Andrew Balderas

CA Strikeout Cancer: Nick Titanski, Mason Baron, Tyler Donato, Darryl Bennett, Shane Herbert, Andrew Balderas, Nick Sopko, Robert Waters, and Preston Casey.

Diane Kelly Math Excellence Award: Kylie Kelly and Molly Kelly.

Fendrock Family: Jocelyn Brown.

Kayla Nakonechni Memorial: Kaci Bannon.

Ambassador Against Drugs/Lackawanna County District Attorney’s Office: Kylie Kelly

Dime Bank Director’s Award: Erika Hollis

Carbondale Business and Professional Women’s Club: Molly Kelly

Carbondale UNICO: Jacob Berg

109th Infantry Regiment Association Legacy Scholarship: Tyler Donato, Preston Casey, and Angelina Montafeur

General Jerome F. O’Malley American Legion Post 221: Andrew Balderas, Jacob Berg, Preston Casey, Tyler Donato, Emma Perri, and Robert Waters

Simpson VFW Post 4712: Andrew Balderas, Jacob Berg, and Robert Waters

Christopher Buckley Memorial Scholarship CA Faculty Golf League: Kaci Bannon

Michael “Red” Wallace: Preston Casey

PIAA Scholar Athlete Award: Andrew Balderas and Megan Cosklo

James Swift Scholarship: Jocelyn Brown and Caden Brennan

Frank Burnett Memorial: Molly Kelly

Anne Fedorchak Memorial: Kylie Kelly

Frank T. Lee: Erika Hollis

Peter Petorak: Janessa Disla

Judith and Joseph Calabro: Molly Kelly

Faculty Academic Excellence: Megan Cosklo, Kylie Kelly, Molly Kelly, Jocelyn Brown, and Robert Waters

Nellie Jordan and Mary Louise Gallagher: Megan Cosklo

James and Margaret Pidgeon: Jocelyn Brown

Robert Jurble: Jocelyn Brown

The Carbondale Area School District congratulates all of the award winners on their well-deserved recognition. We also want to thank the generous benefactors of those scholarships for their continued support of our students. Also, a special thank you goes out to Mr. Carm Perri, Mrs. Alyssa Mayne, and Mrs. Carolyn Burrell for organizing the event, as well as the faculty and staff who assisted with the event. We could not do this without all of you!

Please see below for some pictures.

CLICK HERE for all photos taken by Oak Tree Photography during the event. Photos are free to download.

CLICK HERE for the video of the ceremony taken by Oak Tree Photography. The video is free to view. If you are interested in purchasing a DVD of Class Night, contact Aaron Yurkanin at

Close Menu

23-24 SAP Referal Form

23-24 SAP Referal Form Link