Carbondale Area Hosts Annual Class Night Ceremony for the 2023 Graduates
Senior Class President Audrey Cobb addresses the class.

Carbondale Area Hosts Annual Class Night Ceremony for the 2023 Graduates


On Wednesday, May 31, the Carbondale Area seniors gathered as a class to celebrate achievements, reflect on past memories, and await the future. Brian Repsher (Valedictorian) and Julia Murphy (Salutatorian) led the Pledge of Allegiance. Audrey Cobb, Class President, addressed the class with sentimental remarks both before and after the ceremony. Robert Constantine (Class Poet-ranked third) recalled past memories and introduced the events for the evening in a poem format that he wrote.

The ceremony started with presentations of Class Gifts and the reading of the Class Will and Prophecy- these were all based on their personalities and interests, as well as inside jokes that the general public probably did not understand. Joshua Berg, Madalyn Borders, Mary Miles, Katelyn Ostrander, Hailey Peterka, Liam Shenise, Matthew Totsky, and Jacob Ulmer presented the gifts. Shauna Durst and Gia Mark read the Class Will, while Gianna Gallo and Madison Kelsch predicted the future of the Class of 2023 by discussing their 25th Class Reunion at Elkview Country Club.

Various presenters gave out thousands of dollars in merit-based scholarships to the students. Award recipients are as follows:

Steve Brownell: Vincent DePalma.

Shane Rivenburgh Memorial: Vincent DePalma.

Michael Scotch Memorial Athletic: Vincent DePalma.

Tom Molinaro Memorial: Chase Arthur.

CA Strikeout Cancer: Audrey Cobb, Gavin Connor, Vincent DePalma, Ashley Escott, Gianna Gallo, Julia Gorel, Thomas Gray, Madison Kelsch, Liam Shenise, and Matthew Tarchak.

Diane Kelly Math Excellence Award: Julia Murphy.

Fendrock Family: Audrey Cobb.

Kayla Nakonechni Memorial: Audrey Cobb.

Ambassador Against Drugs/Lackawanna County District Attorney’s Office: Brycen Kelly.

Dime Bank Director’s Award: Jacob Ulmer.

Carbondale Business and Professional Women’s Club: Julia Murphy.

Carbondale UNICO: Joshua Berg and Audrey Cobb.

109th Infantry Regiment Association Legacy Scholarship: Audrey Cobb, Quintin Naro, Justin Toy, and Jacob Ulmer.

General Jerome F. O’Malley American Legion Post 221: Joshua Berg, Audrey Cobb, Emma Monahan, Quintin Naro, Elyssa Shaw, and Jacob Ulmer.

Simpson VFW Post 4712: Chase Arthur, Audrey Cobb, Alyssa Hendrick, and Jacob Ulmer.

Christopher Buckley Memorial Scholarship CA Faculty Golf League: Vincent DePalma.

Michael “Red” Wallace: Bryan Salitsky

PIAA Scholar Athlete Award: Madison Kelsch and Bryan Salitsky.

James Swift Scholarship: Julia Murphy.

Timothy Joseph Turano Memorial: Josalyne Livingston.

Frank Burnett Memorial: Bryan Salitsky.

Anne Fedorchak Memorial: Corinne Haley.

Frank T. Lee: Shauna Durst.

Peter Petorak: Audrey Cobb.

Judith and Joseph Calabro: Robert Constantine.

Faculty Academic Excellence: Robert Constantine, Madison Kelsch, Gia Mark, Julia Murphy, and Brian Repsher.

Nellie Jordan and Mary Louise Gallagher: Madison Kelsch.

James and Margaret Pidgeon: Brian Repsher.

Robert Jurble: Robert Constantine.

The Carbondale Area School District congratulates all of the award winners on their well-deserved recognition. Also, a special thank you goes out to Mr. Carm Perri, Mrs. Alyssa Mayne, and Mrs. Carolyn Burrell for organizing the event, as well as the faculty and staff who assisted with the event. We could not do this without all of you!

Close Menu

23-24 SAP Referal Form

23-24 SAP Referal Form Link